Paddle up the River Hamble 2nd March 2014

Took the opportunity to take a few hours off work (after starting at 5am!) to join some kayak fishing friends for a social paddle up the River Hamble, my training ground. I started at the Rising Sun so I could put a few miles in before meeting up. The wind was a straight Southerly so was lovely paddling with the wind behind and a fast moving flood tide. After meeting up and paddling to the Horse & Jockey pub in Curbridge we headed back. After I said goodbye to return the few miles to my start. As I rounded the corner, I was hit by a force 7 headwind that made progress a nightmare. For the first time I found myself taking my kayak for a walk! haha. I eventually got back in and slogged out the last half mile landing exhausted. Great exercise at full bore but in a safe environment. I hope you enjoy the video – i’m testing my new camera and trying video editing……

Leave a Reply

