More than half way round the Isle of Wight……

I was keen to go round the Isle of Wight in one go which up to now has been on my “to do” list. As I am still waiting for my new kayak and we are on Neap tides I had to settle for second best which was to see if I could get to The Needles from Warsash – I have tried this trip before but only got as far as Hurst Castle. That time it took me about 8 hours to do 30 miles.

As I set off it was really foggy and it was difficult finding the shipping lane. As I had researched on VTS Shipping Movements that the Needles side was not having many tankers down it (it usually only has smaller ships anyway) I was a bit happier. I also frequently use Marine Traffic which shows you live time data (well a few minutes behind but good enough) of where all the bigger craft are.

Anyway, I’ll let the pictures do the talking:

DSCF2208 DSCF2211 DSCF2218 DSCF2219 DSCF2224 DSCF2225 DSCF2230 DSCF2231 DSCF2232 DSCF2236 DSCF2240 DSCF2245 DSCF2247

38 miles in 7 hours 53 averaging over 4.8mph.  This includes about 20 minutes for lunch, I didn’t wait for the tide to turn and the “barge” (as I call my Scupper Pro) weighing in at 30 kg (including the trolley) – oh and on a Neap tide! Not bad for a Sit-on-top……

Leave a Reply

